Why Build?

Received a comment on one of my blogs the other day that got me to
thinking. This post, which appears to come from someone with
a vested interest in another product,  states that while he finds my instructions detailed
enough, he does not have the time or tools to spend on the
project. He is very happy with another product.

I say “Good! I have no difficulty with your position.”  It makes perfect
sense to me.

This post did get me to thinking. Why do I spend time and
money making things that I can  just as easily buy?

There are reasons:

. Outrageous pricing, add shipping and handling, the money
spent borders on being ridiculous. An item that works for
less money is a source of satisfaction.

. Creative pride. Commercial garden products are items marketed
as necessities. Very few are original items, most are simply
Grandpa’s practices dressed with today’s look. Ask “What would
the old folk have done?” Maybe, I can do something similar.

. Excited anticipation. The anticipation of,will all this come
together or is it a stupid idea? Will it actually do what it is supposed
to do? is much more satisfying than “Will UPS ever get here with
that package?” and the letdown of “Oh, for pete sake, I could have
made this thing, for a lot less money!” that is a part of so many
transactions.

. Victory dance. “That is never going to work, I have never heard of anything
so ridiculous!” The smug “the poor ole fool” looks that I get, with some of
my projects, make the success even sweeter than the produce! Braggin’
rights for a whole next season, when I will try  something stanger!!

The simple fact is, gardening is a hobby, not a necessity. I know  when the crop
fails, I will not starve; the grocery store is right down the road. The prices are outrageous,
the produce tasteless many times, but it is there.

When I can produce a few dozen ears of corn, a few servings of beans, or a plate of sliced
tomatoes and cucumbers, I feel an indescribable pride and connection with the earth  I
never get from pushing the cart through the produce section.

When these things are grown in containers and contraptions that I build, well, there
is a warm feeling of “gee! maybe I am not as lost as I thought I was. I can do somethings on
my own, I do not have to depend on “big business” for everything”.

I can dream.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cathie Zeien on April 14, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    By the way – I really enjoy reading your blog! Thanks!

    My comment is: I think it’s the feeling of independence, self-sufficiency and accomplishment that makes gardening and building things so much fun. Our ancestors “did” for themselves and it’s nice to “do” for our modern selves, too.
    Great satisfaction!

    Reply

  2. You are right on target!! Thanks for the encouraging comment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

