Frugal Gardner–Eliminate the Big Farm Mentality

Click here to go to the new location for this post
Original was accidentally deleted from here.

The comments are still accessible—-you might enjoy what they had to say.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cathie Zeien on June 5, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Good morning, Lane –

    It’s so true……..big farm, big garden, big cars, and it goes on and on. That’s the American “bigger is better” mentality. Unfortunately, with BIG comes lots more work!

    I’m doing tomatoes, peppers, cantaloupe and squash in strawbales and “lasagna” gardening beans, carrots and the rest in a square-foot style. Not too many plants this year. Oh, and I put potatoes in growbags, too. They seem to be growing well.

    Enjoyed your article very much! Thanks!

    Reply

    • Cathie, your garden sounds great. I am experimenting with different grow methods; have not tried strawbales, or “lasagna” yet but have read lots about both. Think I might just see how they work next year.

      Thanks for sharing your experience.
      Lane

      Reply

  2. Posted by Gymgirl on June 8, 2010 at 10:09 am

    Lane,
    Once again, you have hit the nail right on the head!

    I cannot describe how “right on time” your article is for me, especially now that I have to downsize and relocate my beloved container veggie garden. Thank God it’s portable!

    I had long been having angst about my small growing system and what I believed to be “limited” harvests and was struggling with the thought of “is this harvest worth all you do to grow it?” I kept thinking I should be growing more, more, more!

    But, your great article just put into perspective that “enough IS enough.” As I pack up my belongings, I see the same sentiment there, as well. My true goal is to become like Paul in prison who, requesting his most prized possessions in his life, only asked “…bring the cloak and the parchments, Timothy!” That’s where I want to be! Just the cloak and the parchments — and enough eBuckets to feed the world, one at a time!

    Hugs! (Give Linda a hug for me, please!)

    Gymgirl

    Reply

    • Linda,
      One of the rewards of blogging is learning that I am not so different from others in the way I feel and think about things.

      I wondered if I should publish this blog when I first thought of it. I am so glad you found it comforting and helpful.

      My prayer has always been “Jehovah, help me be happy with the necessary things.” I try to consider the other things as an added blessing.

      It’s has helped me stay balanced in many situations in my life. Less is a blessing in so many ways, but sometimes I tend to forget.

      I love the application of the thought in Paul’s request, I never considered it as you apply it. How appropriate!
      Lane

      Reply

Leave a Reply

